- DRIVER EDUCATION
The Tintic School District hereby establishes driver education in the District as set forth in this policy, to help develop the knowledge, attitudes, habits, and skills necessary for the safe operation of motor vehicles.
Utah Code § 53G-10-502(2) (2020)
- AGE FOR WRITTEN TESTING
A District school offering driver education shall provide each enrolled student the opportunity to take the written test when the student is 15 years and 9 months of age. The school may permit an enrolled student to take the written test when the student is 15 years of age.
Utah Code § 53G-10-502(1) (2020)
- COMPONENTS OF DRIVER EDUCATION
Driver education shall consist of both a classroom portion of instruction and a behind-the-wheel and observation portion of instruction.
Utah Code § 53G-10-501 (2019)
- CLASSROOM TRAINING
The classroom-training portion of driver education will consist of instruction, in accordance with the rules established by the State Board of Education, which will take place in class instruction held at the school outside of regular school hours, in class instruction held at the school outside of regular school hours and through home study.
Utah Code § 53G-10-508 (2020)
Utah Admin. Rules R277-746 (May 8, 2018)
- BEHIND-THE-WHEEL TRAINING
The District in accordance with the rules established by the State Board of Education will provide the behind-the-wheel and observation portion of driver education.
Utah Code § 53G-10-502 (2020)
Driver education in the District shall be solely funded through student fees and funds from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account. However, for these purposes, the cost of driver education does not include the full-time equivalent cost of a teacher for each driver education class taught during regular school hours, or the cost of classroom space and maintenance.
Utah Code § 53G-10-503(1)(a) (2019)
The Board of Education will set the student fee required for participation in driver education in the District, which fee shall be determined by taking into consideration the costs associated with providing driver education, which are not covered by reimbursements from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account. Student fees shall also take into account costs, which are not covered because of students obtaining a waiver of driver education fees.
Utah Code § 53G-10-503(7) (2019)
The District shall submit to the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, as required by the State Board of Education, all reports required to obtain reimbursement of driver education costs from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account.
Utah Code § 53G-10-505 (2019)
Adopted by Tintic School Board : 9/22/2008
Amended : 10/12/2015, 12/19/2016, 11/20/2017, 11/19/2018, 10/15/2019, 11/16/2020